In The Name of The Lord, Eloi Yahweh, I am coming!

Just another WordPress.com site

s I am trying to link to Facebook the box is blinking like a Christmas tree. A miserable Black woman is doing so.

on November 4, 2013

 

Monday, November 04, 2013 11:22 PMEstrella J Benavides

 

To:

 Charla Bear 

Cc:

 Eugene R Chelberg‎; Cristina Azocar‎; Joseph D Greenwell‎; shimanof@sfsu.edu 

Attachments:

C grade.docx‎ (30 KB‎)‎[Open in Browser‎]

 

 

Hi Professor Bear:

 

I am very sorry that I feel the way I am feeling from someone like you as I thought very highly of you.  If I want to keep pursuing my career I better off doing as many are wishing me to do and they have been forcing me to do so: “Withdraw all my classes as I know many are doing as last semester- Average “C” as now an average of D or F, which will kill my dream forever, but meanwhile, I will try to save others dream making public the crime and my discoveries.”

 

Please approved my withdrawal from your classes.  I am aware that Chair Azocar needs to sign it and if she let me I will forward that to the registration office and I will request full credit of my semester.  Meanwhile, I am proceeding to file a grievance through Dean Chelberg and Greenwell as others had advised me.

 

With regard my poor English, I am very sorry to tell you that ashamed of SF State, College of San Mateo as this country crime-government organized group who are not teaching because at the Writing lab “errors,” purposely done screwed up many times my little improvements as I am trying hard to be successful.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella Benavides

912552776

 

 

 

Hi Estrella,

 

I am giving you much of the credit on your Diversity Profile, but your profile didn’t include several of the topics we discussed in class. For instance:

 

What is Collin’s socioeconomic status? His sexual orientation? Does he identify with a particular geography (urban/rural/suburban)? Does he have any disabilities? What gender roles does he identify with?

 

As the assignment stated, “Your diversity profile must touch on all 12 subjects we defined in our diversity definitions”

 

Also, you have several grammar errors in the piece that detract from a full understanding of your work, or imply stereotypes, such as “the language described by him denoted a pure American.” What is a “pure American?” The way you’ve written it comes across like you are stereotyping particular people.

 

Also, this sentence appears stereotypical and potentially offensive on several levels: “you may think he is Chinese because of the “Lee,” in between; he doesn’t look likes at all, but he seems to be smart.”

AssignmentDiversity Profile        50.00 (F)               0–100    50.00

AssignmentReflection on Diversity Profile interview        40.00 (F)               0–100    40.00 %

Hi Estrella,

I’m giving you some credit on this assignment for turning something in, but you didn’t complete most of the requirements. You answered the first question clearly by saying the interview was done over email. You then glaze over the next two questions simply by saying you “never felt uncomfortable.” But you don’t say whether that has to do with the questions Katrina asked (or how they actually DID make you feel) or the method of the interview (questions 2 & 3). You don’t suggest any advice for Katrina in the future (question 4). And you don’t say what you learned from being on the receiving end (question 5), only what you “hope to learn.”

Through our email messages, you will find that I thought Katrina perhaps was busy.  She put a lot of questions together last minute, but I can understand we do have a lot in our plate.  She was very polite.  I tried to respond as much and as quickly as possible. I AM NOT COMPLAINING ABOUT MY CLASSMATE, BUT I TRIED TO BE REASONABLE AND I TRIED TO COOPERATE WITH HER.  I VOLUNTEER. IF ANYTHING, PERHAPS I TEACH HER WHAT I SHOULD TEACH HIM, BUT WHO I AM TO DO SO.

I AM NOT SURE WHAT SHE EXPERIENCE WITH ME, BUT WHAT I EXPERIENCE WITH HIM WAS TERRIBLE; HOWEVER, AS WE DID TALK TO YOU. I FELT HE WAS DIFFERENT AND NICE.  I found a nice person to talk about, but if I mention what he didn’t want to tell me as I tried hard to scoop it out.  At least I say what he look like and I made a nice and a positive comment not only about him, but the Chinese people who perhaps do not deserve it.

I opened myself with Katrina.  I gave her more than what she could asked me and I did sooner than she did ask me about.  HOW DO YOU WANT ME TO TELL YOU: “I DID NOT FEEL BAD TO OPEN UP,” AND YOU ARE GIVING ME A 40 BECAUSE OF IT.  PROFESSOR BEAR, I BELIEVE A 1000 WORDS WOULD TELL AS MUCH AS I WILL SAY WITH MY SILENCE. 

Below you can find all the communication between me and my classmates.  Blame me if I did not do as much as I could or if I did want to make sure that Katrina fail in her assignment as I never done so.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella Benavides

912552776

 

Wednesday, October 02, 2013 9:59 PMEstrella J Benavides

 

To:

 Katrina

i:

 

 did not receive your questions yet, but I’m supposed to be Latina.  I grew up in Nicaragua.  I came here the first time in 1973 and three months later I went back to Nicaragua.  I did with my legal father and we drove in a truck.  We got lost in Mexico, but I figured the road to go through a map.  
I grew up as Catholic believing in God reading about the New Testament as I went to the same school for years.  Madre Del Divina Pastora.  We were poor because my legal father was a taxi driver, but the school wasn’t exactly for poor people.  It was private and before 1972 or before the big earthquake in Nicaragua they were having a fancy one for the wealthy and a poor version for people like us.  I never like to ride on the school bus, but my sister did I used to hate the chaperone Nina lady that used to check on students.  They used to pick us up the first one and drop the last ones perhaps BC we used to live the farther, but I used to hate that.  I ended riding on buses or saving the money to go by a nice place eating a banana split if I could everyday.

 

True wealthier people’s daughter used to go to the one in the downtown, but as the school disappeared BC of the earthquake; we were not.  Nevertheless, I used to get more cash then them.  My father as a driver used to carry cash daily so it was easy for him to give us a peso that others felt it was too much.  I used to shop the food since I remember.  He used to come to this country and stayed here for months at time per a year or so while my Mom used to keep on renting the taxi and sometimes we were not having enough money for food, but it was also true that at the school bookstore I was authorized and I used to get everything and anything.  He always paid and when he was arriving from this country was as having Santa Claus coming with a bit of everything or he was selling the truck or whatever he managed to get there and before the earthquake my Mom put together two extra business.  One tire shop and a tiny little restaurant, which got lost with 1972 earthquake.

As Catholic we hardly ever went to church every weekend as happens here, but I used to read the New testament at the school and we used to celebrate Santo Domingo.  I used to hate that.  It was like a National celebration.  People used to promise things to God for miracles and in August they were having their bodies with contile meaning Black stuff and they were painting their bodies as if they were Black, but as they were going they were scaring children and putting contile on us.  The wealthy used to ride on fancy horses which were trained to step and dance for the crowd.  the ladies did not ride as man, but as woman never crossing or opening both legs on the horse back.  They used to dress typical dress and we used to go to the town of Santo Domingo walking, some on knees like Virgen Guadalupe in Mexico City celebration.  Almost the same used to happened in September for Independence Day and in November 2nd we used to celebrate the death going to the cemetery to clean and visit our dead tumbs. In December 7 and 8 we celebrate the Concepcion the Maria that is like Virgen Guadalupe in Mexico and good number of the people pray for seven days inviting their neighbors and on the last day they were having a big celebration.  If your were part of their guest you were to get food, drinks, candies, played with pinatas.  No less in Christmas and New Years.  The traditional dinners and parties where people dance with guest people who can be friends, neighbors, relatives or s.  It was fun!  No less in what you call Easter Week here; we called it Semana Santa or Holy Week, but even tough we follow some Catholic traditions as Ash Wednesdays or Holy Friday or so; we used to also take a week or two vacation with pay as in Christmas to go to the Beach or around.  A lot of people drink and celebrate.  Usually a lot of accidents on that time. 

Here I adjust to Halloween, Easter and Christmas or New Years had a lot of similarities. 

 

Estrella

From: Katrina Danielle De Leon Andaya
Sent: Wednesday, October 02, 2013 10:10 PM
To: Estrella J Benavides
Subject: RE: Her email doesn’t work. 

Thank Estrella!

I haven’t thought up questions just yet, but ill go with what you sent me for now. Thank you so much. I’ll actually see you in our reporting class

 

 

Hi Estrella,

 

Friday, October 11, 2013 12:13 AMEstrella J Benavides

 

To:

 Katrina

 

 

Hi: 

 

I just read your response and your were sweet.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella


From: Katrina
Sent: Tuesday, October 08, 2013 6:58 AM
To: Estrella J Benavides
Subject: RE: Let me know if you need any other information

Hey Estrella,

No worries I’ll use what I have thank you! it’s my bad

-Katrina


From: Estrella J Benavides
Sent: Monday, October 07, 2013 3:06 PM
To: Katrina
Cc: Charla Bear
Subject: RE: Let me know if you need any other information

Hi Katrina:

 

I noticed the email is saying 10;02pm. but is barely 3pm and it seems you sent it on Sunday, at 3:29pm.  I traveled from Redwood City and I barely made it to class and then I work on my paper, but after that was your email responses.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella  


From: Katrina
Sent: Monday, October 07, 2013 7:51 PM
To: Estrella J Benavides
Subject: RE: Let me know if you need any other information

Hi Estrella, 

Sorry for taking so long. I’ve been very busy as well. Here are a few questions

 

 

1.)What do you consider the most important parts of your racial/ethnic identity? Also, what assumptions do people make about you based on your race/ethnicity? What would you like people to know about your racial or ethnic identity?

 

2.) Do you think your sex (being biologically female or male, etc.) has had any effect on your experiences or how you view your race/ethnicity? Your gender?

 

3.)Do you feel your racial and/or ethnic background has affected your views on one’s sexual orientation, or the topic in general? What about religion?

 

4.) Where do you think you fit in terms of geographical diversity? (Sorry, I know that’s vague, but I need to cover the topic).

 

5.) How would you define your socioeconomic status? Do you feel your racial/ethnic background has had any effect on the socioeconomic status of you or any of your ancestors/relatives?

 

6.)  Being your age, how do you feel being a part your particular generation has affected or been affected by your racial/ethnic background?

 

7.) Have you been affected by any disabilities in your lifetime? (Your own or those of others around you) Do you feel your racial/ethnic background has played any part in how you feel about this?

 

8.) What are your thoughts on citizenship status? How have your own experiences shaped this view? When you first moved to the U.S., what was your immediate citizenship status? Did you need to apply for citizenship, etc.? (Sorry, I’m just asking general questions because I’m not very personally familiar with that process).


From: Estrella J Benavides
Sent: Saturday, October 05, 2013 8:29 PM
To: Katrina
Subject: Let me know if you need any other information

Hi Katrina:

 

I sent you as much as I could, but please don’t hesitate to ask me.  Since Thursday, I had been in a seminar, as I will do tomorrow, but I will be here trying to respond about 8pm if you need any other information.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella

 

 

I’m giving you some credit on this assignment for turning something in, but you didn’t complete most of the requirements. You answered the first question clearly by saying the interview was done over email. You then glaze over the next two questions simply by saying you “never felt uncomfortable.” But you don’t say whether that has to do with the questions Katrina asked (or how they actually DID make you feel) or the method of the interview (questions 2 & 3). You don’t suggest any advice for Katrina in the future (question 4). And you don’t say what you learned from being on the receiving end (question 5), only what you “hope to learn.”

Professor Bear:

The same date you gave us the assignment I requested the information; below you will also find the followed up and I hope you remember the talked we have the date was almost do the assignment.  This is not the first time.  I am going through this matter and issue.  Many are the students who are participating and working with the “teachers” to force me and millions others to not pass our classes and to stop our dreams or careers. But use us to be able to create and under pay us to do so. 

Wednesday, September 25, 2013 8:34 PMEstrella J Benavides

To:

 C

Hi Colin:

 

I was about to send this email and I saw Lee and I am wondering if you are Chinese or if that is your second name why Lee and who chose it?

 

Would you please provide me with a copy of your auto ethnography unless you feel funny about it?

Now, perhaps there is written most of the things you want someone to know about you, but I want to ask you if you want to share with me something that you remember that brings good memories for you and tell me why? describe if you can the place.  The person who make you feel and think even today about that moment in your life.

 

I will tell you, I used to be Catholic, what about you? 

 

You look for me White, but you are thin and have “rizos” in your hair.  Meaning they are not exatcly straight unless my glasses are dirty and believe it is possible.  One thing I love and perhaps you hate because who cares about what I and as I am going forward trying to figure you out?  I used to love and I believe I still do “Christmas or any family gathering together.  Do you?

 

Do you speak any other language and where did you learn how to talk or write on that language?

 

Tell me with whom do you get along and why that person is your friend or why do you hang with him or her?

 

Do you like to travel and where did you ever go or are you from California?

 

But tell me what is your major and why do you like it?  How did you get to the conclusion that you want to pursue it or are you undecided about your goal yet?  If that the case what it is that keep you going and what it is the interest you the most?

 

Are you a savvy person and in what, don’t tell me computer because I need help with it, but what I most need and wish to have today is a good lawyer.  Do’t tell me you are studying to become one.

 

Tell me about your Mon, Dad, but mainly your grandma or your younger brother or sister unless you are the baby tell me about the old big brother or sister who help you and if you are the only one.  Tell about your good or bad feelings about it?

 

By now I believe you told me about your believes in the political arena as well as in your spiritual, but do you have a religion?  Why do you practice?  Are you one of those who hate people and what are the characteristic of that human if there is anyone that you hate because of race, religious belief or just because you are mean and do love to hate?

 

I’m assuming you were born in U. S., but if you didn’t where did your Mom had the accident?  Don’t get offended, I believe that the pain comes where the baby in this case you get tired of being inside Mom’s and happens any place.

 

Oh well, don’t tell me you got offended because if you don’t hate me yet; I am feeling you may arrived from Jupiter and if you did in what year, what about the day.  Do you know the special name that day has in any book or do you know who else was born as you did on the same day and perhaps a different year?

 

I am not going to ask you if you are a middle class because Carla Bear said majority is so why do you considered yourself middle class if you believe that?

 

The terms are:

 

Race (categories: Hispanic, Latino, white, etc.)

Ethnicity

Nationality

Sex (male, female)

Gender

Sexual Orientation (gay, bisexual, straight, etc.)

Religion

Geographic diversity (neighborhoods, cities, urban, rural, etc)

Socioeconomic status (middle class, etc)

Age (tweens, millennials, etc.)

Disability (mental, physical, etc)

Citizenship status (undocumented, green card, etc)

I am not sure if I missed any of this, but I hope you can tell me about if I did.  Please let me know as soon as possible because I am not good at writing and I will try to edit to get a grade above “F,” this time.

Hey Estrella it looks like Professor Bear wants to not use Autoethnography’s as sources. Id be happy to just list off a couple of factors about my life but he email looks like she wants more of a reactionary interview process.

 

Name:

Age: 23

family origins: The Welsh Islands (Wales)

Nationality: Id consider myself to be purely American since this land is all ive known.

Cultural: Culturally my family and myself are part of American culture. That means alot of things to alot of people, but for us it embodies the love of many things that are traditionally American; there are many such things take your pick.

Ancestry: Like i had mentioned earlier my family is froms Wales which is an island state off the coast of the United Kingdom. Its small and a distant memory to most in my family.

language: I speak only one language and that is American English.

Beliefs: As for beliefs i do believe in god. I grew up in a baptist christian environment, but do not attend church regularly now.

Homeland: Im rather patriotic about being an American. I feel like this country does alot of good around the globe to help people besides our own. I consider the United States my homeland.

History: All of my life history takes place in the U.S. and does not include a narrative on immigration.

Race: I’m not really a huge supporter of the race word i feel like it is used only when meritocracies don’t exist. However, if i had to label myself id say that im racially Euro-American.

 

If you have any more pointed questions id be happy to answer them. The email sent out by Professor Bear is rather telling in that she wants these reports to differ from our Autoethnograpy’s, otherwise our partner would just re-write what has already been written.

From: Estrella J Benavides

Sent: Wednesday, October 02, 2013 3:33 PM

To: C

Subject: RE: I had not hear d of you. Would you please let me know?

 

Hi:

 

Anything you can provide me with.  I am desperate.  I am not so good at writing and I take my time doing it.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella

From: C

Sent: Monday, September 30, 2013 10:16 PM

To: Estrella J Benavides

Subject: RE: I had not hear d of you. Would you please let me know?

 

Hello Estrella, good to hear from you again. Would you like for me to start by sending you my autoethnography?

From: Estrella J Benavides

Sent: Saturday, September 28, 2013 9:36 PM

To: C

Subject: RE: I had not hear d of you. Would you please let me know?

 

Hi: C

 

Would you please remember about me and our assignment.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella

From: C

Sent: Thursday, September 26, 2013 11:10 PM

To: Estrella J Benavides

Subject: RE: I had not hear d of you. Would you please let me know?

 

Hey Estrella,

Yea i got you here im just real busy with school untill friday. My plan is to link you my autoeth’ on friday afternoon. Currently in class ill talk to you soon.

 

-Calculus C

From: Estrella J Benavides

Sent: Thursday, September 26, 2013 7:42 PM

To: C

Subject: I had not hear d of you. Would you please let me know?

 

Hi C:

 

Would you please let me know about you as soon as possible?

 

Sunday, October 06, 2013 4:08 AMEstrella J Benavides

 

To:

 C

 

 

Hi C:

 

I’m not trying to be difficult.  I get that you may celebrate Halloween, Thanksgiving, Easter, but how do you do so.  My Christmas are one of the most important holidays and for me the traditional dinner is important as the gift and after dinner waiting for the midnight to come we open the gifts, laugh, drink and eat. What about you and your family?

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella 

 

 

Sunday, October 06, 2013 10:54 PMEstrella J Benavides

 

To:

 C 

Cc:

 Charla Bear 

 

Hi C:

 

Would you please provide me with more details about your own personal experiences.  I can described a Halloween or a Thanksgiving or any other holiday, but I need more specific details of your own experiences, feelings, ideas and anything that you may think.  Please refer to my first questionnaire sent to you since assignment was given.  To make it easy I also gave you more details of my inquiries last night. Again, I am sorry. the only reason I am insisting is because I can not put my words and ideas that is not the goal.

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella

 

Hi C:

 

Thank you for your response.  I am not as good as I wish, but I am trying hard and I hope you will not be disappointed.

 

But thank you so much for your nice words,

 

Estrella


From: C
Sent: Wednesday, October 09, 2013 1:44 AM
To: Estrella J Benavides
Subject: RE: WOULD YOU PLEASE ANSWER THE FIRST QUESTIONAIRE OR EMAIL I SENT

Thanks Estrella I hope your doing well on your essay, but im sure you’ve already completed it with a superb finish. 

-C


From: Estrella J Benavides
Sent: Monday, October 07, 2013 6:47 PM
To: C
Cc: Charla Bear
Subject: RE: WOULD YOU PLEASE ANSWER THE FIRST QUESTIONAIRE OR EMAIL I SENT

C:

 

I just read your last email and I want to apologize.  For you the writing in capital letter might be meaning something else.  For me was locked of attention.  I’m very sorry about that.  On the other hand, talking to you this afternoon let me find a fine well oriented young American with good future goals.  I feel you wrote plenty and I do have enough to write about you. 

 

Thank you for your kindness and time,

 

Estrella


From: C
Sent: Monday, October 07, 2013 5:28 AM
To: Estrella J Benavides
Subject: RE: WOULD YOU PLEASE ANSWER THE FIRST QUESTIONAIRE OR EMAIL I SENT

Estrella,
    I have one older brother, He just had a baby boy which makes me an uncle. Im 23 and a journalism major at SFSU. Im pretty political and tend to lean on fiscally conservative issues. Because of that i watch alot of political commentary along with reading hard news stories from various online sources; twitter is a good place to get a scoop on developing issues. I found my calling to be a journalist through the passionate debates ive had throughout my collegiate career. Im a transfer student from De Anza college. The college is located from my hometown of Cupertino, which is part of the Santa Clara County system. 

As a family observe Christmas by going to evening church followed by a morning of frivolities: Food, laughs, gifts, stories, and movies. Drinking alcoholic beverages is something i rarely do around my family as the rest of my family tends to be dry. 

To be frank, i think its a little unfair for you to email me with all caps as a title on an assignment i responded to 4 days prior. This complicates issues because I leave for the weekends to head back home and hear nothing from you until you desperately need answers from you. To answer your question about my partner i set up a time to actually meet that person so i could gather and extract pertinent data. I need to talk to you in class tomorrow about this emailing back and forth business. 

Have a good night.


From: Estrella J Benavides
Sent: Sunday, October 06, 2013 1:27 AM
To: C
Subject: WOULD YOU PLEASE ANSWER THE FIRST QUESTIONAIRE OR EMAIL I SENT

Hi:

 

I am sorry that I am going back to you today, but I had been in a seminar since Thursday.  Thank your for the information provided, but to write 550 to 650 words.  I really need more information about you.  I sent you an email with ridiculous questions and inputs perhaps, but I really need more information to be able to write at least 500 words. 

Do you have brothers, sisters?  What’s your major? How are you doing?  What kind of issues or goals do you have?

What elementary or high school did you go to? When did you graduate from high school and in what town?  Did you earn or transfer any degree?

I know we are busy, but this is part of it.  Please help me to get my grade and I hope whoever is doing so for you will try to provide you with the tools.  I will go again to the seminar tomorrow, but I will be here by 8pm trying to do my assignment.  Thanks a millions ahead of time.  I hope you don’t feel I am doing this last minute because I knew and I try to push it earlier.  Anything else you want to share and may be relevant for you and your family?

 

Thanks,

 

Estrella Benavides

Leave a Reply

