In The Name of The Lord, Eloi Yahweh, I am coming!

Just another WordPress.com site

on December 13, 2012

Government and wicked at College of San Mateo as well as San Francisco State University are denying my right to post at Facebook.  They are not letting me to do so and this is the third time.   Help, I am not only forced to be on the street; they are forcing me without  a phone and are forcing my grades to the lowest.  Last night at SFSU, they were turning off the computer I was using as I was trying to study.  Again the security came to tell because three times I went to tell them about how they were turning off my music just because they were trying to force me be listening to them as they were trying to invade me and abuse me.  It does not make any difference, but what mame me upset is the alienation of my rights and they forcing me to be without studying and not listening the music just because they can change the set ups on the computer as happened today at College of San Mateo and Professor Brown is participating in the segregation and the discrimination that this government is having against non-wicked and the poor people from all over the world.

REFLECTING UPON MY EXPERIENCE WORKING ON GLOBAL VISIONS

 

INTRODUCTION (Both essays)

 

PREPARING US FOR THE PRODUCTION DAYS (First essay)

 

Throughout the semester Fall 2012, we worked hard to learn the term and specific on Camera and Production not only on studio, but fields Crew.  At first were many the new terms, which many times are not found, define through a regular dictionary to refer in regards.  The Taco cart does not mean the regular tacos Mexican tortilla with meat, cheese, or beans.  It is the cart where many of the little tools use through the Studio Production are kept.   The gloves, the cookies, the light covers films or gel that depending on the color will have a dramatic change not only on the perception, but the look of the shots, the face or feeling shows on the people participating or on the people who are going to be our audiences.   We did learn about the different types of lights, brands.  Their softness, or how they would be able to hide the face or a human who wants to give his or her testimony, but wants to keep herself anonymous so we can use a backlight to produce silhouette or we can use fast falloff or soft falloff to show the details or to hide them.  We can learn how to use the key, the fill or the back lights to soft the effects as well as we learn the symbols use to talk without words as we were counting down to start the shooting or to ask to the host to expand or shorten the message because the time left was limited.

We did learn the abbreviations.  We figure out the parts of the camera.  We were introduced to the teleprompter and its use.  We were taught to always locked and break the camera, as we were to leave it for any reason. 

Finally toward the end of this semester we ended spending good number of our classes’ time at the Studio where some of the KCSM Broadcast engineer’s taught us about the fancy equipment that College of San Mateo has.  Nevertheless, we hardly got to know them.  All of them split the group into two groups and good number of time under time pressure.  I did not participate in Professor Brown’s evaluation because my glasses were broken on that day.  I tried to tell to the person who was there about the above issue, but he did not let me.  I tried hard to be watching over some of the students that were allowed to get closer and to get some experience.  There is a lot of new, very sophisticated equipment and two of the engineer mentioned that depending on our point of interest of focus they could have special sessions with us, but the time through the class do not permit that at all and it seems that some had been re-taking the class for 2-3 semesters.  I did observe two or three using the teleprompter monitor and control, but none of them exactly new how to retrieve the information.  I do not think is that hard, it is just a matter to know the files and the procedures.  I saw some changing the inputs as someone else set the question or so to show and facilitate the host or guest answers.

I check on the main control, which is not really disclosed to us.  One of the students was put to be changing the cameras and how to do that manually or through an automatic bottom to have the 10-15 shot sequences to do a smooth change from one camera shot to another one.   We were introduced to some of the control panels, but we never got to touch it or at least I never saw anyone doing so.

Before the production days, we were test on how to operate the cameras, how to

keep the cables use for the microphones nice and tide or how to coil them properly.  How to route them through the main coiled output, which had been route by the engineer group and I perhaps, I misunderstood one of them as he said we were having 24 channels as the equipment does have those, but to plug microphones and use for the Global Visions Segment 3 or any other; we have only six channels available and due to it on the last production day (Segment 3 of our production); Zeke and Pavo who were the most knowledgeable improvised a handheld microphone for some of the guests, but did not heard my comments in regards the livelier batteries which would solve the three and four microphone channels that we were having.  We got a morning trained on lights and we were tested on how to remove or hang them properly.

            We got to choose the title; we were giving the opportunity to write the three places where we did care to work on production days, but none of the ones I wrote were giving to me and I do not know about the rest of the people.  We did talk about the theme, which got change, and if at first we were to have like a food type we ended having a Hawaiian hat pre-recorded field segment done by Larry Cortez, which is short and nice.

I know some got to produce, but not all.  The tape/Record machine and some others I got to know, seating and trying to play without touching much like the audio equipment too.

THE STUDIO PRODUCTION DAYS

It happened quickly we did have two or thee classes of shooting.  It looks like not all of us got to get the hands on anything else than the theory.  I practice on Camera shots and I was assigned on Lighting Assistance 2 on 12/3 and Audio Assistance on 12/5/12.  I did volunteer for the Craft Services/catering, which I did understand everyone was supposed to give a $1.00 or $2.00 per production day.   At first, Professor Brown told me someone else was supposed to do so as I volunteer, but I never heard about so I took the chance and I did purchase some snacks and drinks for the first production day and I told her.  Steven or whoever was assigned got sick and I was glad I did.  The second day Steven got pizzas and he was worry about the money and I remind him about the money collection to pay for it.  Five were suggested, not all got a piece and I believe he barely got the money to pay.  Francisco got a case of coke; I got Diet, cookies, candies, Chewy bars, and crackers both days.  It was fun to go shopping looking for good prices and I got late for my first assignment (Light assistance 2), but I got to practice ahead as we were trained, tested and lecture on the matter.

As we were practicing in one class for the first segment, I got one of the cameras and I went around checking on everyone as they were working. I got to touch the tape/record.  I asked Zeke and Pavo about the audio equipment and I was a bit prepared for the 12/5/12 assignment.  I checked on the Teleprompter monitor and not much about the main because we were about 10-12 around it as the engineer went over.  On 12/5 I did connect the microphone to the main cord.  I asked for the batteries to install new ones for the shooting day as recommended on Zettl’s book and my other classes and Ms. Brown said we were not having any.  One of them told me that they were not having batteries need and Prof. Brown said they were Phantom power as Zeke did say.  I tried to code them just by the length of the cord and the person who was going to use it and I tried to set them accordingly and on that date lines 3 and 4 were not working.  We did test the cords changing the input/output.  The engineer came and could not solve the issues.

Zeke and Pavo are great people to work with and if anything the two days of training and work there did pay off; they got to know the audio equipment better than anyone.  They put the iPod, they tested the Chinese music that we were going to play and they did a great job as our first segment was channel. So I was suggesting that we could have four people with livelier and two with a stand not realizing that we were just having a total of four channels for microphones out of 24.  We learned that if we would installed the batteries we would solved the issue because they use Phantom Power, but also batteries as alternatives that I believe has to do with Studio or field production.  Over all I retrieved the lines without used at the end, but left two in use as some people were to record some parts without the participation of the whole class.  The engineer could not solve on that date the problem and who knows why not, but the team did an excellent job thanks to Zeke and Pavo who proposed the stand microphone as alternative.  I did learn that the months of learning did pay off in production days.  A great job overall. 

            Today I volunteer to do half of the transcription (Music Segment 1) as someone else took the other part, but who volunteered for the credits exchanged with me as she was wishing to do the other one.  I felt I had done so in a prior class and for me would be easy as I did understand that.  For the Credit List, I verified the student list and the assignments were verified as well.  I wrote the list and I email Prof. Brown with some additional questions to put it together.  It was nice because not all the names of the students were on the list and some other titles were like challenges to figure out to finally put it together and if I can I believe it can be improve.  Overall, the months of training did pay off on the production days.  We were ready to catch on the signs to stretch or speed up the lengths of the show.  We did set up the lights and we did hook the appropriate microphones and we were able to solve some issues.  We were able to work together and if anything I hope that the show will be selected to be air.  No matter I am proud.

OVERALL RESULTS AND ANALYSIS OF THE PRODUCTION DAYS

THE SHOW CRITIQUE (Second essay)

            The content of the production put together is very good and I feel that people attention can be catch.  I will say every single of us work hard, but not all as a team and the results show not the worse because the overall shows the efforts put into it. We got some lighting issues that could it be avoid as the audio issue.  Good number of the little technical issues can be fixed through editing.  The technical issues that could it be address as part of the class training and consensus since everyone was there to learn we did not.  Like converging, diverging or through the Z-axis that Prof. Brown said is for advance classes, but seen through a simple common sense we could put the chairs or set better arrange and we did not because somehow Monica was chose as the Director of the whole studio production and two or three made comments which she override not for the best.  Out of the three segments, two of them, I will say well done.  Most of the errors were made in segment 3 because segment 2 has good content and a lot of entertainment.

A SHORT CONCLUSION

Our hard work shows the good results.   The mental map of the audience might be disturbed because our production has some defects and perhaps, the lighting as well as the poor not well-organized flags arrangement is not helping.  I do like the content a lot, we the variation on topic as I mentioned this morning on the topic focus.  I do not like the way in which four people were arrange, some like kind of facing the host others the opposite and four of them seating in one little bench that is not well organized with the rest in the Segment 3.  Segment 2 is much better and perhaps the practice helped the good results. 

We do have some head and nose room issues but overall as Professor Brown mentioned we all did a great job.  For the majority of us this is our first experience and the overall result is a great outcome, but is not so for all who should be able to think ahead about the factors I am bringing up not with the intention to insult or diminish their efforts, but to help every single of us to growth and learn.  After all if our video would be put together with higher standards could hit the top rating and could make our names to shine and the other way around means in this industry good number of times millions of dollar investment wasted.  Professor Brown I know, but I hope that my sincerity would help you as well as my classmates and will not keep on affecting my overall grades as it is happening just because people believe that closing the eyes will take away the errors when as it is happening in Detroit is leaving lots of empty building and a poor economy in this country which is a reflection of our lack of good leadership and judgments.  I learned that this is a teamwork game and the goal is to gain the market not to lose it.  A good director needs to learn to rely, delegate, make decisions and with example show a team work to expect the best from his or her team group as is also written in Module 59 or our reference lectures. 

What I did not mentioned in my paper is that many of us were participating and their names are called “by forced mistake,” and not only me is having the issues.  The difference is that they are not aware and I am.  They even pay for us through FAFSA just to take our talents.

Leave a Reply

